You Can Be Sensitive And Strong.

I still get very high and very low in life. Daily. But I’ve finally accepted the fact that sensitive is just how I was made, that I don’t have to hide it and I don’t have to fix it. I’m not broken.”-Glennon Doyle Melton

In my group of friends, I am known as the “unemotional one”. I don’t break down in front of people and crying is a rare thing for me. I don’t like to acknowledge when I am hurting or sad. Instead, I have this constant “poker face” that I put on in every situation.

In reality, I am actually a very sensitive person. I get my feelings hurt by stupid things and I get disappointed/sad when people don’t live up to the expectations I have for them more than I would ever actually admit. This is who I am, so why do I feel the need to hide it?

For a long time, I thought having emotion “made you weak”. By being this “strong, unemotional, no feelings person”, I thought I was being a strong woman. In reality, I have learned that the strongest woman I know are fearlessly themselves. They face hard times head on and grieve them. Because they allow themselves to feel their emotions, which may be laughing one moment, crying the next, plotting revenge on a jerk ex-boyfriend that you would never actually carry through with, or eating a tub of ice cream with no shame, they are going to eventually be able to move past it.

Having a “hard exterior” and avoiding everything just prolongs the “moving on” process. Although it can be hard (trust me, I know how hard it can truly be), you have to let yourself feel the wide range of emotions that demand to be felt. If you were born a sensitive individual, it is not something to be ashamed of. You can be sensitive and strong.

-BrilliantlyAverage

Leave a comment